The year so far, in food…

A selection of cooked and bought, delicious meals that I’d like to keep track of. As a belated Valentine’s gift I bought Oliver a ridiculous Nigel Slater tome that we are already in love with. It’s an indulgent half diary, half cookbook stepping gradually through the seasons. I feel guilty to say that I am craving Autumn and Winter, for a chill in the air and big warm layers. In the UK I wasted so much time longing for sunshine and long days, pretty ironic.

Hopefully to come will be far more elegant home cooked meals, but for now…

 Homemade French Toast, peaches and sausage… half kind of adapted from the Guardian’s ‘how to make the perfect’ series here.
 Oliver made plum cobbler on a Monday evening in the middle of summer. I told you we are craving the cold.

 I made this Rick Stein fish madras but it wasn’t oily or salty enough for me. I suppose that speaks volumes about my takeaway curry habits in England.

 This was such a winner! Delicious first time attempt at chicken cacciatore, thanks to Oliver. I was so impressed at how tasty this was.

 Aubergine and prawn thai green curry with noodles.
 … and we ate the curry with a huge platter of grilled prawns!

 We finally went to one of the dozens of Japanese restaurants on Smith Street to find that it was precisely as expected… minimal, delicious and expensive.
 Another cookbook was added to our small collection; The Kinfolk Table. My Mum bought it for me when I was in England, and I carried it back to Melbourne all delicately wrapped in brown paper. I love cookbooks. We’ve made this cabbage salad a couple of times, very tasty.

 I came across this tikka masala soup at The Modern Proper and it sounded like the perfect way to get my curry fix without telling Oliver, yet again; “we’re having curry”.  It was pretty delicious, I’ll admit. We added roasted sweet potato and yoghurt and ate it with sub par naan bread.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

