Tour of the Salt Flats of Bolivia, Day Three, Part Two

Looking through these pictures is such a treat. This trip was now 17 months ago. That astounds me! Time has flown and we have been in Australia for over 15 months. I’d love to return to South America and Bolivia especially to see even more.

This part of our Salt Flats trip was my favourite. We saw so much, but this savanna landscape was the most lush and beautiful. There were intensely green mosses and grasses that drew donkeys and alpacas as well as huge dark lakes. The sun was shining and I could have stayed all day. It was like discovering the Garden of Eden in the midst of deserts and rocks.

  

I had to capture this picture below as proof that James Blunt terrorises all over.

       

    

Our driver Moses has one of the best jobs in the world.

    

Our guide, Carla, enjoying the serenity of this place.

        

These boys! We were a great team for these few weeks together!

               
    

After I fell for that beautiful, lush landscape it was time for some fear. We walked out onto a rocky peninsula which overlooked a canyon. I wandered out and soon realised the sheer drop that sat metres from us on either side. I had to sit down in the middle and be comforted by Dermot whilst Darren and Oliver and Carla bravely traversed the outskirts. They were fearless. All I could picture was a slip or trip and a missing team member. Yet another example of me catching the fear in South America. What a wuss.

     

Carla told us to look through the sand for sparkles. We found little gems, like diamonds, all through the sand. Far more interesting that risking my life on peninsulas!

    

I like this picture below because it sums up my Salt Flats Tour wardrobe. Leggings, vest, cardigans and ridiculous socks I bought from a market in Tupiza. I swear I couldn’t find any that weren’t crazily patterned, certainly for children.

      

Note on our tour: We took our tour with Hostal Los Salares and Moses and Carla were our driver and cook/guide respectively. The hostel is based in Tupiza, so we took the 4 day trip from Tupiza, ending in Uyuni. Our group highly recommends this tour for the landscape, really good Bolivian food and the lovely tour staff. You can book the hostel on hostelworld.com and book the tour when you arrive.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

