bagels

I’ve spent a weekend making bagels. Actually almost a week. I’ve made four batches. Toby says one more and I’ll have a problem. I found a recipe and made some little adjustments and baked the most delicious bagels I’ve tasted since I was in Virginia a good few years ago.

Bagels should be poached before baking, something that few people seem to realise and even fewer bagel makers. Because round bread with a hole is not a bagel.

Anyway, I’m very smug because I managed to make something at home that I thought I’d have to search out from a Jewish bakery in Balaclava. Which I’ll still have to do, just to compare.

I’ll share my secret recipe one day.

IMG_2035.JPG

IMG_2036-0.JPG

IMG_2048-0.JPG

IMG_2038-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

