Birthdays and anniversaries…

Every year Oliver and I have the same fortnight of anniversary, his birthday, my birthday. And I quite like it because we get everything done in one go. Does that sound miserable? It’s just that I don’t like fuss and would rather my birthday didn’t stick out like a sore thumb. Good job that my brother and I share a birthday so at least the fuss was easily spread out until I met Oliver. 

This year at the end of July, start of August we celebrated 4 years together, 29 years of Oliver and 27 years of me. Like everyone else I’m sure I dislike birthdays because they make you look at the bigger picture of your life. I did this often with my friend Jill at home, a once a week contemplation of what we’ve done and what’s to come and a little panic about everything we haven’t considered yet.

In the 12 months since my last birthday I’ve done so much more than I could have hoped. Visited 8 countries and countless cities that I’d always wanted to, met wonderful people from all over, eaten exotic and interesting foods and found myself living and working in a different country. Still, there’s always that birthday panic. Like what the fuck am I gonna do with my life!?

We received lovely packages from our parents with birthday gifts and cards, which made me very happy and a little bit homesick. Oliver bought me a beautiful watch and I ate Cadbury’s Marvellous Creations directly from the UK. It’s the little things.

IMG_1931.JPG

IMG_1929.JPG

IMG_1928.JPG

This birthday I bought $70 worth of cheese and gorged with Oliver. It was all I wanted to do. It’s pretty nice coming to the realisation that eating cheese and staying in is a favourite past time. I suppose that’s the 27 year old I’ve grown into! 

I took some pictures of the cheese 🙂 We got it from Spring Street Grocer in Melbourne CBD, and spent a good 15 minutes chatting to the cheese man (cheese monger?) about all his wares. He let us try lots and I felt elated. It’s the only way to describe it. Content, joyful, elated just to eat wonderful cheese and be taught all about it. I totally understand how Alex James ended up where he is. Perhaps cheese making is my future too.

DSC_0288.JPG

DSC_0291.JPG

DSC_0286.JPG

DSC_0287.JPG

DSC_0290.JPG

DSC_0297.JPG

DSC_0295.JPG

DSC_0296.JPG

Enough cheese? One more.

DSC_0300.JPG

One Comment

  1. That last bit (well the half of it) made me laugh so much. all that cheese! 😀 and, and, can’t believe you’ve been together 4 years!! HAPPY ANNIVERSARY and, what a lovely watch. 🙂 i miss you guys xxx ps that NEWSpaper was fantastic! what a fun present.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

